I need help with an article

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
black mariah
buyin' gear

I need help with an article

Post by black mariah » Tue Jan 27, 2004 4:19 am

I'm not an engineer, I just play one in my bedroom late at night with the light off, the covers over my head, the latest issue of TapeOp, and a jumbo bottle of Jergens at my behest. From an engineering perspective I have nothing to contribute here except for conjecture, wildly irrelevant anecdotes, more conjecture, and a few actual useful tips.

I am a guitar tech. You're all recording nerds, I'm a guitar nerd. You help me with my recording problems, and I want to help you with your guitar problems. It's like this. I want to write an article about guitar repairs that can be done by you, the engineer, in the studio. We're talking very simple repairs for problems that can literally pop up overnight. Phantom fret buzz, bad intonation, dead electronics, and so on.

Where I'm having a problem is writing this for an engineer's perspective. I can easily throw around terminology that will fly over all but the guitar geeks heads, but I don't want to do that. I also don't want to dumb this down to second grader "This is a string" level, but I don't know where the happy medium is.

So what I need from all of you guys that care to reply is the answer to a couple of questions.

1) Are you familiar with basic guitar anatomy? For example, could you identify a truss rod, locknut, or scarf joint? Do you know how a tremolo system works?

2) What are some problems you run across with guitars in your studio on a regular basis (bad intonation, scratchy output jack, fret buzz, etc)?