Should I learn ProTools?

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
federal donut
gettin' sounds

Should I learn ProTools?

Post by federal donut » Sun Feb 01, 2004 8:05 pm

I'm starting a "commercial" studio and am wondering if I should finally dig in and learn ProTools. I've been using Cakewalk Pro Audio 9/Sonar for the last 5 years and am adept at computers and learning software in general. Seems like it would offer "customers" a little bit more flexibility to give them ProTools files to take elsewhere. I'm recording in a really great room that also doubles as a happening venue, but I have the bare essential of gear (recording on non-DigiDesign PC based 24bit 8 in soundcard and Tascam 38 1/2" sync-d up with a handful of great mics, preamps, and outboard gear, a shit load of funky instruments[harpsichord, mellotron, moog, blah, blah], and a good ear and experience). How's ProTools with other soundcards (I have a M-audio Delta 1010)? Everyone makes it so ominous sounding to learn. I guess half of my "clientele" will be "indy" bands who won't care and will be happy with my set up as is, and the other half will be pro touring bands that just want the raw material mixed elsewhere. I have access to the software with minimal investment. Is it worth it? .

toddjal
gettin' sounds

Re: Should I learn ProTools?

Post by toddjal » Sun Feb 01, 2004 8:17 pm

i don't think you can use protools with any non-digidesign soundcards. maybe the LE version but i believe TDM is a dedicated design. that's how they rig it up for no latency. it's also more reliable not having to worry about inter-compatability. that's their downfall but also their strong point.

i did hear once from a guy who records in nuendo and then dumps the tracks for mix-down into protools. i think it was something about the converters he was using and not being able to record in PT, just output from it. i don't remember what he was using or any of the specifics though.

nico