Pay rate for doing sound for live theatre

Regional activities, relevant news, job openings, studio searches, local beer nights (not a forum to plug the new album you just worked on)

Moderator: drumsound

hiddendriveways
pushin' record

Pay rate for doing sound for live theatre

Post by hiddendriveways » Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:08 am

Ok-

I've been offered a theatre sound gig. I don't have much experience in this department, but I've got lots of knowledge and I'm sure I can do a good job. It's for a play with a live rock band in a smallish theatre.

It's going to work out to be about 4 hours a night, five shows a week. Roughly around 20 hours a week. They are paying $350 a week. Is that close to the standard rate for a theatre sound person?

Just curious.

Thanks

JGriffin
zen recordist

Post by JGriffin » Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:23 am

Sounds like you're making more than the sound designer!

And that's more than twice what I was paid to do that job when I did it at a not-so-small theatre in Chicago...though that was 1994.
"Jeweller, you've failed. Jeweller."

"Lots of people are nostalgic for analog. I suspect they're people who never had to work with it." ? Brian Eno

All the DWLB music is at http://dwlb.bandcamp.com/

0-it-hz
buyin' gear

Post by 0-it-hz » Thu Jun 28, 2007 12:22 pm

Hmmm..... Sounds about right.

Get ready to reality check the director about volume levels and getting the dialog/voice loud enough. It's ALWAYS been an issue in my experience.

I work as a sound designer/operator in San Francisco. 15/hr. is about right for operators in small venues. 25/hr. and up for anything big/touring.

If more than half the cast is equity ask for 20/hr. on principal IMHO.

Also, how much load-in/load-out set-up/tear-down do you do? Do you get an assistant?

If I get to walk in every night and play faders I'll do gigs for next to nothing. The moment my hand touches something heavy my rate doubles.

Cheers,
-B
Everything louder than everything else.

matyas
pushin' record