Audio Mastering Engineer with question for Mix Engineers

Regional activities, relevant news, job openings, studio searches, local beer nights (not a forum to plug the new album you just worked on)

Moderator: drumsound

Chris Graham Mastering
pluggin' in mics

Audio Mastering Engineer with question for Mix Engineers

Post by Chris Graham Mastering » Tue Jul 10, 2012 9:01 am

Hey all, Chris Graham here. I'm a music mastering engineer out of Columbus, Oh.

Got a question for all you people out there in Tape Op land. I've been getting a lot of masters from artists who's mix engineers have compressed their master bus. I'm wondering how many of you by a show of hands give your clients mixes with master bus compression to get their approval on the mixes. If so, do you typically send that file to your audio mastering engineer, or send the uncompressed version?
Music Mastering Engineer Chris Graham
Get A Portion Of Your Song Mastered For Free At
http://www.ChrisGrahamMastering.com

Nick Sevilla
on a wing and a prayer

Post by Nick Sevilla » Tue Jul 10, 2012 9:59 am

Hi Chris,

For me, whatever mix I give to the clients for listening is exactly the same mix the Mastering Engineer gets.

This whole bullshit of people doing "pseudo" mastering for a louder "reference" CD only to undo that before mastering, is just plain wrong, IMHO.

It ties the artists into a fake reference which is different than what the ME gets.

And then the poor ME has to "guess" WTF is going on. Too much room for error and miscommunication.

Cheers
Howling at the neighbors. Hoping they have more mic cables.

Chris Graham Mastering
pluggin' in mics

Post by Chris Graham Mastering » Tue Jul 10, 2012 10:06 am

Good for you Nick! I think that's the way everyone should do, but I'm curious to hear from people who might disagree, and what their reasons for doing so are.

fossiltooth
carpal tunnel

Re: Audio Mastering Engineer with question for Mix Engineers

Post by fossiltooth » Tue Jul 10, 2012 10:53 am