Authentication popup?

comments or issues with this board

Moderators: TapeOpLarry, tomb

The Scum
resurrected
Posts: 2407
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 11:26 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Contact:

Authentication popup?

Post by The Scum » Wed Apr 20, 2016 9:11 pm

Anyone else getting two autnentication boxes popping up for every page they load?
A username and password are being requested by http://openx.tapeop.com. The site says: "Please Login"
I'm getting it on both Firefox and Safari.

Is this legit?

Did it just steal my TOMB password?
"What fer?"
"Cat fur, to make kitten britches."

User avatar
vvv
zen recordist
Posts: 8440
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 8:08 am
Location: Chi
Contact:

Post by vvv » Wed Apr 20, 2016 9:14 pm

No issues here.

I don't think that site pop-up ("openx"?) is legit ...

See here.

Clear yer cache?

And mebbe change yer password.
bandcamp; vlayman;
THD; Geronimo Cowboys;
blog.
I mix with olive juice.

Rigsby
mixes from purgatory
Posts: 2908
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 12:34 am
Location: London, England
Contact:

Post by Rigsby » Wed Apr 20, 2016 10:47 pm

I've been getting it too, for the last couple of days. Cleared my cache, still happening. I've been hitting cancel each time and after two attempts it goes away, but it's really annoying to have to do that on each and every page.
The large print giveth, and the small print taketh away.

rigsbysmith.com

User avatar
floid
buyin' a studio
Posts: 852
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 1:39 pm
Location: in exile

Post by floid » Thu Apr 21, 2016 2:49 am

Yes, very annoying.
Village Idiot.

User avatar
vvv
zen recordist
Posts: 8440
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 8:08 am
Location: Chi
Contact:

Post by vvv » Thu Apr 21, 2016 4:10 am

I'm wondering if that is a part of this site's architecture for ads, as I think the site uses php.

I'm a total amatuer at this, but I would:

Try turning off Java and see if that works ...

cite

If so, clear the Java cache, or uninstall and mebbe reinstall Java.

And/or, try a different browser, such as Chrome ...
bandcamp; vlayman;
THD; Geronimo Cowboys;
blog.
I mix with olive juice.

kslight
resurrected
Posts: 2418
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:40 pm

Post by kslight » Thu Apr 21, 2016 8:16 am

Same here...

emenel
audio school graduate
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 7:28 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by emenel » Thu Apr 21, 2016 8:17 am

I'm also seeing this, and just cancelling it. It's really annoying.

Somebody must know why it's happening.

User avatar
joninc
deaf.
Posts: 1803
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 5:02 pm
Location: canada
Contact:

Post by joninc » Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:14 pm

i get on it on my iphone in safari but not on my pc in chrome.

WEIRD! it is super annoying and it is new - just started like 2 days ago on my phone
the new rules : there are no rules

User avatar
shedshrine
carpal tunnel
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: sf bay area

Post by shedshrine » Thu Apr 21, 2016 1:04 pm

Don't worry guys, I just cut it off the screen so we don't have to look at it anymore.
I'll post it here out of harms way.

Image

Rigsby
mixes from purgatory
Posts: 2908
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 12:34 am
Location: London, England
Contact:

Post by Rigsby » Thu Apr 21, 2016 4:00 pm

Getting it with Chrome too.
The large print giveth, and the small print taketh away.

rigsbysmith.com

User avatar
vvv
zen recordist
Posts: 8440
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 8:08 am
Location: Chi
Contact:

Post by vvv » Thu Apr 21, 2016 4:00 pm

I asked a IT friend and if it's still an issue, he said try the things I suggested, but also turn off system restore and re-boot and then you can turn it on again.

FWIW ...
bandcamp; vlayman;
THD; Geronimo Cowboys;
blog.
I mix with olive juice.

MoreSpaceEcho
zen recordist
Posts: 6292
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 11:15 am

Post by MoreSpaceEcho » Fri Apr 22, 2016 11:20 am

getting it here too

User avatar
markjazzbassist
buyin' gear
Posts: 553
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 11:33 am
Location: Cleveland, OH

Post by markjazzbassist » Fri Apr 22, 2016 2:40 pm

getting it here on chrome or firefox or IE.

very annoying

User avatar
alexdingley
buyin' gear
Posts: 509
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 10:00 am
Location: Greater Philadelphia Area
Contact:

Post by alexdingley » Fri Apr 22, 2016 3:59 pm

Getting it too...

It's the system-wide prompt; which I believe used to be satisfied with our "tomb / tomb" un & pw... but now it won't accept those.

I'm on a Mac (Yosemite) with Safari. Doesn't appear on Chrome...

On Safari I've cleared my cache & cookies ... but it's still happening. Happens on multiple computers.

User avatar
alexdingley
buyin' gear
Posts: 509
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 10:00 am
Location: Greater Philadelphia Area
Contact:

Post by alexdingley » Fri Apr 22, 2016 4:10 pm

Here's what we get whenever a page attempts to load:

First Prompt
Image

Then... you click cancel, and you get the next prompt
Image

After dismissing that 2nd prompt, you get the page to load.

If you try typing the original 'tomb' / 'tomb' combo... it rejects them and you have to cancel. This seems to be happening for a large number of users on multiple browsers on macs & pc's.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests