ProTools: advice please

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
User avatar
AnalogElectric
suffering 'studio suck'
Posts: 463
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 12:36 pm
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Contact:

ProTools: advice please

Post by AnalogElectric » Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:43 pm

In the last year I went from Minneapolis studio owner to Arizona freelance engineer. Since I'm now freelance, I notice a lot of the studios around here utilize ProTools HD systems. I'm not very ProTools savvy. I was all analog up until a couple years ago before I integrated Nuendo into the fold. I like Nuendo a lot and I'm proficient with it but if I'm working a session elsewhere I'd like to be proficient with their ProTools rig.

I was thinking about getting something simple (and inexpensive) that would allow me to practice at home. I had a version of ProTools Free years ago but that's when it was available for Mac OS9. So I'm looking for the most inexpensive core system that would be a good learning tool.

I don't need a quality system or more than one input on an I/O. Would something like an MBOX w/ProTools 7 LE seem like a workable option? My understanding is you need to have at least one DigiDesign hardware I/O in order to run ProTools?

Like I said, I'm not using this for sessions, only to learn hotkeys and the idiosyncrasies of the PT software... acclimate.

Thanks in advance,
--Adam Lazlo
AnalogElectric Recording
Gilbert, Arizona USA
http://www.analogelectric.com
http://www.myspace.com/adamlazlo

electrofloss
gettin' sounds
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 8:07 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Post by electrofloss » Sat Sep 01, 2007 11:13 pm

Unfortunately, you will indeed have to buy hardware to run the software.

You can get the Mbox Mini new for about $300. Comes with the newest version of ProTools. Or you can pick up the original Mbox from ebay - probably for around $50 or so. That will come with an older version of ProTools. If you want to be working on the newest version, you can buy it from Digidesign for $75. http://www.avidstore.com/us/index.cfm?p ... ctid=61114

I am running ProTools LE 7.1 on the original Mbox and it works great.

Good luck!

User avatar
AnalogElectric
suffering 'studio suck'
Posts: 463
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 12:36 pm
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Contact:

Post by AnalogElectric » Sat Sep 01, 2007 11:17 pm

electrofloss wrote:Unfortunately, you will indeed have to buy hardware to run the software.

You can get the Mbox Mini new for about $300. Comes with the newest version of ProTools. Or you can pick up the original Mbox from ebay - probably for around $50 or so. That will come with an older version of ProTools. If you want to be working on the newest version, you can buy it from Digidesign for $75. http://www.avidstore.com/us/index.cfm?p ... ctid=61114

I am running ProTools LE 7.1 on the original Mbox and it works great.

Good luck!
Thanks! That answers my question(s) completely!

Unless anyone else has other ideas.

--Adam Lazlo
AnalogElectric Recording
Gilbert, Arizona USA
http://www.analogelectric.com
http://www.myspace.com/adamlazlo

User avatar
JGriffin
zen recordist
Posts: 6739
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 1:44 pm
Location: criticizing globally, offending locally
Contact:

Post by JGriffin » Sun Sep 02, 2007 1:40 am

no, that about covers it, actually. 8)

Have fun!
"Jeweller, you've failed. Jeweller."

"Lots of people are nostalgic for analog. I suspect they're people who never had to work with it." ? Brian Eno

All the DWLB music is at http://dwlb.bandcamp.com/

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 64 guests