Phase question

general questions, comments and ideas about recording, audio, music, etc.
newguy12
alignin' 24-trk

Phase question

Post by newguy12 » Wed May 14, 2003 12:22 am

I know this is probably a stupid question but I'm new to all this. I read somewhere that if you are using two mics to record such as one on top of a snare and one below and they are out of phase, you can rewire one of the XLR cables to reverse the phase on one of them. Is this true and how exactly does one go about doing this.

penrithmatt
steve albini likes it

Re: Phase question

Post by penrithmatt » Wed May 14, 2003 6:44 am

well,one mic pointing at the head of the snare and another underneath pointing at the snares.....the two mics are facing each other,albeit through the drum,and are gonna be 180 degrees out of phase.if you have a phase reverse switch on your board/workstaion/whatever try flipping the bottom mic.the snare should now sound "more full".
as to rewiring cables,most gear is "pin 2 hot".by swapping pin 2 and pin 3 you "reverse"the phase of the cable.unscrew the barrel of the xlr.look at the three connections.you will see a number by each bucket.grab yer soldering iron and away you go
If it's not distorted,what's the point??

helstab
george martin

Post by helstab » Wed May 14, 2003 7:06 am

If you can't switch the phase on your board and your not running your parts into a computer how can you check for phase and fix it? besides recording somthing with 2 mics at 180 form each other how can I learn to spot when drums are going out of phase. Right now everything bleeds but I can't tell if it is out of phase or not. I think the snare might be because its hard to turn up when the overhead and snare mic are playing back with each other, but it doesn't sound bad. I think the frequecy that is out of phase is being cut by parametric eqing so it's not making anything sound really bad. But I don't how to check it.
-Matthew Macchio$tab

helstab
george martin