Tell me about your migration to Reaper

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
permanent hearing damage
buyin' gear
Posts: 517
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 3:55 pm
Location: philly
Contact:

Tell me about your migration to Reaper

Post by permanent hearing damage » Wed Jul 11, 2018 8:42 am

I think there are more than a few out there. Been using Cubase 6 since 2012 or so, I believe. Have only tinkered with Reaper, and haven't updated past version 4.99, but it just seems so much more user friendly and has features I just wish I had in Cubase - esp wet/dry for all plugs (why on earth hasn't every DAW adopted this?!) and the transport speed control.

I guess I'm curious how long it took you to adjust your workflow once you switched over? I'm mostly concerned with mixing. I've done some tinkering at home and I feel awfully clumsy. I know some of this has to do with not setting up quick keys, etc.

And curious what hurdles you encountered.

User avatar
Nick Sevilla
speech impediment
Posts: 4700
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:34 pm
Location: Los Angeles California USA
Contact:

Re: Tell me about your migration to Reaper

Post by Nick Sevilla » Wed Jul 11, 2018 8:47 am

I'm in the middle of exporting reaper sessions to Pro Tools.

It is simple and easy... UNLESS they used the Varispeed knob.

Then you are fucked.

Because there is no way to "print" the varispeed change properly.

If you "render", it creates new files ALMOST at the varispeed rate. But not the effing same. CLOSE ENOUGH FOR ROCK AND ROLL is not good when the pitch is off with other sessions.

If you "consolidate" it creates file WITHOUT the Varispeed... and you are screwed. they get created with no Varispeed, imagine getting files at half speed LOL.

Reaper looks good and is very powerful. But, it has features that, in inexperienced hands, can make your life a living hell.
Re Amping Fart Noises.

User avatar
Nick Sevilla
speech impediment
Posts: 4700
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:34 pm
Location: Los Angeles California USA
Contact:

Re: Tell me about your migration to Reaper

Post by Nick Sevilla » Wed Jul 11, 2018 8:48 am

That said the latest stable version of Reaper is good and stable. Worth upgrading.
Re Amping Fart Noises.

kslight
resurrected
Posts: 2388
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:40 pm

Re: Tell me about your migration to Reaper

Post by kslight » Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:54 am

If Reaper had come out 15 years ago I’d probably use it but my simple brain has a tough time memorizing shortcuts and workflow for every DAW out there so I have not tried this one in a few years.

permanent hearing damage
buyin' gear
Posts: 517
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 3:55 pm
Location: philly
Contact:

Re: Tell me about your migration to Reaper

Post by permanent hearing damage » Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:06 am

I was concerned about shortcuts, too, but then learned you can program them in Reaper (maybe other DAWs, also?). Mostly don't wanna throw a few hundred bucks to Steinberg every couple years just for stability. I'm getting by just fine for the time being - but i've had issues with plugins and just sessions starting up super slow.

User avatar
vvv
zen recordist
Posts: 8367
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 8:08 am
Location: Chi
Contact:

Re: Tell me about your migration to Reaper

Post by vvv » Wed Jul 11, 2018 1:28 pm

I have been using CEP for almost a cuppla decades now, and am loath to change. It really is a great editor.

But I don't want Audition.

And since I figger my XP machine is getting towards end-of-life, well I bought Reaper and have been playing around with it.

It really is cool, but is not real simple - quite a bit different from CEP.

I use Reaper onna Win10, but just for "mastering" at the moment.

Recording-wise, I'm-a ride that WinXP macheen to hell.
bandcamp; vlayman;
THD; Geronimo Cowboys;
blog.
I mix with olive juice.

crandallwarren
gettin' sounds
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:15 am

Re: Tell me about your migration to Reaper

Post by crandallwarren » Tue Jul 24, 2018 4:28 pm

I teach the Pro Tools certification classes, but I often tell students that if they're unsure whether they want to take the plunge on something more expensive-- they should try Reaper first. Again, I'm a PT's guy and I stay there because it's what I'm fastest on, but I think Reaper is fantastic. I use it when I'm on the road or traveling internationally and don't want to bring along the ilok. I find the stem mixdown/expand feature to be pretty outstanding. Also how easy it easy to bounce individual tracks, busses, stems, etc.
Don't send a $1000 microphone to do a $100 microphone's job.

Magnetic Services
pushin' record
Posts: 251
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:21 pm
Location: Milwaukee

Re: Tell me about your migration to Reaper

Post by Magnetic Services » Fri Jul 27, 2018 5:01 pm

I learned Pro Tools, Logic, Cubase, etc. in school, then ended up with a non-official copy of Nuendo for a while. When I got a new computer and it was time to decide on a DAW, I went with Reaper because it was free (yes I should buy the license), way easier to use and more functional than Audacity, and I didn't want to be jerked around by Avid's subscription BS. I've since thought about getting Pro Tools just for those clients that want to work that way, but honestly it hasn't been necessary yet.

In short: USE REAPER, and pay for it if you can! The more of us supporting it, the better.
Dante Fumo
Engineer, writer, and owner of The Workshop studio in Milwaukee, WI
dantefumo.com

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests