power conditioners, i know i know i know

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
User avatar
michaelkerchner
studio intern
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 4:56 am
Location: Royersford PA

power conditioners, i know i know i know

Post by michaelkerchner » Wed Oct 30, 2019 5:58 am

i know they are pretty much all voodoo and snake oil but im redoing my racks and just the convenience of having a single power switch and ease of cable routing to a rack mount unit is my draw. i dont have a noise issue as it is, but are there any consumer budget conditioners that would give me any benefit over just a good ol' power strip?
sounds good, compress it
@thedarkchurchrecording

User avatar
A.David.MacKinnon
ghost haunting audio students
Posts: 3251
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 5:57 am
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: power conditioners, i know i know i know

Post by A.David.MacKinnon » Wed Oct 30, 2019 6:06 am

Not a power conditioner but if you want the single switch Hammond makes a 19" single space power bar with a switch on the front panel. I've had good luck finding them at local electronic surplus stores for about $20 each.

User avatar
digitaldrummer
dead but not forgotten
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 9:51 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: power conditioners, i know i know i know

Post by digitaldrummer » Wed Oct 30, 2019 7:08 am

I use one of these -- purely for convenience - there is no power conditioning at all. I've had it for several years and have had no issues with the switches wearing out or anything. I like it to power on monitors, preamps, I even have my entire 500-series racks controlled by switches so i can turn on 1 or both depending on what I need.

https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-aud ... ch&index=3

and btw, Monprice.com has about every length of IEC power cord you will need...

https://www.monoprice.com/search/index? ... ower+cable

I would say your welcome, but I first heard about this on the TapeOp message board, so thank you fellow Tape-Opers

User avatar
michaelkerchner
studio intern
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 4:56 am
Location: Royersford PA

Re: power conditioners, i know i know i know

Post by michaelkerchner » Wed Oct 30, 2019 8:26 am

digitaldrummer wrote:
Wed Oct 30, 2019 7:08 am
I use one of these -- purely for convenience - there is no power conditioning at all. I've had it for several years and have had no issues with the switches wearing out or anything. I like it to power on monitors, preamps, I even have my entire 500-series racks controlled by switches so i can turn on 1 or both depending on what I need.

https://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-aud ... ch&index=3

and btw, Monprice.com has about every length of IEC power cord you will need...

https://www.monoprice.com/search/index? ... ower+cable

I would say your welcome, but I first heard about this on the TapeOp message board, so thank you fellow Tape-Opers
hell yeah, thanks. how close are the power center units mounted to your audio gear? just curious
sounds good, compress it
@thedarkchurchrecording

User avatar
digitaldrummer
dead but not forgotten
Posts: 2106
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 9:51 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: power conditioners, i know i know i know

Post by digitaldrummer » Wed Oct 30, 2019 12:35 pm

about the only thing that is close to them is my Apollo 16 interface, and some patchbays and so far no issues with that. My 500 gear is in another rack
Last edited by digitaldrummer on Fri Nov 01, 2019 6:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
vvv
zen recordist
Posts: 8679
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 8:08 am
Location: Chi
Contact:

Re: power conditioners, i know i know i know

Post by vvv » Thu Oct 31, 2019 12:35 am

I use the same thing digitaldrummer linked, and similar units. They are right in my racks. I use some rattail extensions to be able to fit the occasional wallwart. No issues at all, and total convenience to turn on just the units I need on. Here's two, next to the arrows:

Image
bandcamp; vlayman;
THD; Geronimo Cowboys;
blog.
I mix with olive juice.

User avatar
michaelkerchner
studio intern
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 4:56 am
Location: Royersford PA

Re: power conditioners, i know i know i know

Post by michaelkerchner » Thu Oct 31, 2019 3:11 am

perfect, thanks yall
sounds good, compress it
@thedarkchurchrecording

Magnetic Services
steve albini likes it
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:21 pm

Re: power conditioners, i know i know i know

Post by Magnetic Services » Mon Nov 04, 2019 9:34 am

They definitely ain't voodoo and snake oil. They're essentially rackmount surge-protecting power strips with extra protection from RF, and they're pretty much essential for any audio rig. I used to use the Furmans with the dimmable lights, but I just sold them and got the smaller one without the lights because it fits in my shallow rack a lot better. At under $100, you really can't go wrong.

https://www.furmanpower.com/product/15a ... oner-M-8X2

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests