Anyone use Waves Tune in Pro Tools 2019 (aka 12) successfully?

Recording Techniques, People Skills, Gear, Recording Spaces, Computers, and DIY

Moderators: drumsound, tomb

Post Reply
User avatar
digitaldrummer
dead but not forgotten
Posts: 2111
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 9:51 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Anyone use Waves Tune in Pro Tools 2019 (aka 12) successfully?

Post by digitaldrummer » Fri Nov 29, 2019 8:39 am

just wondering if anyone has ever gotten Waves Tune to actually work in Pro Tools 2019 (aka 12)? If so, what's the trick?

I have rewire in the session, try to tune a bit of a track (vocal, nothing to difficult) and I ALWAYS get weird pops/crackles/distortion and other artifacts. I don't think I've ever had it work properly so I just stopped using it. Oh, and I am on Windows but should not really matter. Every once in awhile I need to tune something (that I did not record). Since my Waves Tune is out of the Waves maintenance I may have to renew it (to get support - and my past experience with Waves support has not been great) or get something else instead. And Anatares AutoTune seems way overpriced. When you can't just say "run it again", what do you use?

Mike

kslight
moves faders with mind
Posts: 2579
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:40 pm

Re: Anyone use Waves Tune in Pro Tools 2019 (aka 12) successfully?

Post by kslight » Fri Nov 29, 2019 9:28 am

I have Pro Tools 2019.5 installed, and I have Waves Tune Lite...I threw it on a vocal track and seemed to work as expected, no tricks. I'm on a Mac.

User avatar
digitaldrummer
dead but not forgotten
Posts: 2111
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 9:51 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: Anyone use Waves Tune in Pro Tools 2019 (aka 12) successfully?

Post by digitaldrummer » Fri Nov 29, 2019 9:47 am

which version of Tune? I think I'm back on the v9.

kslight
moves faders with mind
Posts: 2579
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:40 pm

Re: Anyone use Waves Tune in Pro Tools 2019 (aka 12) successfully?

Post by kslight » Fri Nov 29, 2019 10:31 am

9.6.0.155 Build 57323 (Cocoa)

Its a 64 bit version, but its not new by any stretch.

User avatar
digitaldrummer
dead but not forgotten
Posts: 2111
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 9:51 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Contact:

Re: Anyone use Waves Tune in Pro Tools 2019 (aka 12) successfully?

Post by digitaldrummer » Fri Nov 29, 2019 1:36 pm

ok, thanks. Looks like I can update mine to the latest for about $25, or update my Melodyne essentials (really old version) for $49 right now. checking with Waves support to see what they say... btw, I thought mine was working initially, but when I listened back closely I noticed the artifacts - which are sometimes really bad or sometimes barely noticeable.

kslight
moves faders with mind
Posts: 2579
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:40 pm

Re: Anyone use Waves Tune in Pro Tools 2019 (aka 12) successfully?

Post by kslight » Fri Nov 29, 2019 2:06 pm

Yeah I was just about to say with black friday sales it looks like it wouldn't be that much to get the latest...they sent me an offer to buy it for $30 something..but I don't really need it so I didn't.

I only noticed pops/clicks if I was looping a clip....it would pop at the end of the clip, but only if I looped it.

On a side note, here's a free Waves plugin for today only: https://www.waves.com/lpn/black-friday-2019/free-plugin

User avatar
losthighway
deaf.
Posts: 1894
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 8:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone use Waves Tune in Pro Tools 2019 (aka 12) successfully?

Post by losthighway » Sat Nov 30, 2019 8:24 pm

It's kind of a RAM hog. Take what I say with a grain of salt, because I use very few plugins (more hardware) and the ones I have were made ten years ago+ (Waves renaissance eq mostly) and my computer was state of the art Intel processing back in 2010. I bought Waves Tune to clean up a couple of horn/strings things that were sloppy and there was no time to get the people back. Anyhow, it doesn't work well with big multitrack projects; glitchy, jams up, freezes and sputters. My work around was to copy the file I needed to process, open it as a single track on a new project, process it, bounce it, open it back up in the original. Kind of annoying, but not the worst thing.

I'm assuming when I do my every-decade-or-so computer upgrade it will play nice, but we'll see sometime in 2020.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests